Craft me a List

I’m a consummate list maker.

It’s not so much a compulsion as a need to categorize the vast amount of information stored in my brain.

It is done with pen and pape. Firm and soft. The feel of these two items in my hands comforts me, while the simple act of combining their functions is pure magic. It stills my rracing thoughts and brings order once again when life turns chaotic.

The first list is an outline for goals in every area of my life, with steps to accomplish them. Other lists include passwords, phone numbers, books I want to read, movies I want to watch.

I even have a list of the next few knit or crocheted projects I want to make. This keeps me from getting distracted or over- whelmed by the myriad patterns and designs I view online each day.

All of these are kept in a spiral notebook with 3 sections. The last section is entitled “finances.” The first page is a list of the current month’s expenses, which lets me know if I’m sticking to the 50-30-20 budget plan or not. Next are the proposed expenses for the following month where I can make adjustments and hopefully do better. And so on…

These are only examples. A list can be practical or fanciful. It can have whatever purpose you choose, or no purpose at all. Your favorite words or your least favorite foods. A brain test or a brain tease.

The important thing is that it makes you think. And you have complete control.

I keep my to-do list in a 3×5 inch notebook, small enough to have at my elbow or to take along to an appointment. Big enough to jot down blog post ideas, quotes that inspire me, a pattern, a recipe, a dream…

Now go make your list, and I’ll make mine.

2 thoughts on “Craft me a List

    1. Hi Noel!
      Thanks for reading my blog. Yes, I am an introvert, too. I work well with the public and have good communication and supervisory skills, but when my time is my own, I guard it diligently. I hope you are doing well. Anxiety is no fun. Take care!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment